Aussie pacer breaks ODI world records

Most consecutive dot balls to start a bowler’s innings in ODI cricket

4 | Mohammad Asif

Former Pakistan pacer Mohammad Asif bowled 24 consecutive deliveries against Sri Lanka in 2006. 

3 | Kemar Roach

West Indies pacer Kemar Roach bowled 26 consecutive dot deliveries against Pakistan in 2013.

2 | Glenn McGrath

Aussie legend Glenn McGrath bowled 27 consecutive dot deliveries against England in 2005. McGrath would have bowled another but Jason Gillespie dropped the catch. 

1 | Sean Abbott

17 years later, Sean Abbott broke the record by bowling 28 dot deliveries on the trot against New Zealand.

Another record broken

Abbott broke another record for most economical spell in ODIs (minimum 30 balls). 

Record created in 1992

Former West Indies bowler Phil Simmons conceded just 3 runs in his 10 overs against Pakistan in Sydney.

Abbott’s unbelievable spell

Abbott conceded just 1 run in his 5-over spell. He took the wickets of Devon Conway and Tom Latham in powerplay overs. 

Replacing in-form player

Abbott replaced Cameron Green in the side. Green scored a match-winning unbeaten 89 in the previous game after Australia’s batting collapse. 

Click Here