Batters to whack first century of the year, Indians lag behind

02 Januray, 2023

Sports Tak Web

The year 2023 has kicked off and so is the cricket action.

New Zealand's Devon Conway has scored the first century of 2023 in the second Test vs Pakistan. Let's take a look at the list of batters who scored the first century of the year in the past half decade.

New Zealand's Martin Guptill had scored the first century of 2019 when he smashed a cracking 138 in an ODI against Sri Lanka. on 3 January.

Australia's Marnus Labuschagne had clobbered the first century of 2020 when he scored 215 runs in the Sydney Test against New Zealand on January 3.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson had belted the first century of 2021 when he scored 238 runs in a Test match against Pakistan on January 4.

New Zealand's Devon Conway had pummelled the first century of 2022 when he scored 122 in a Test against Bangladesh on  January 1.

New Zealand's Devon Conway brought the first century of 2023 as he struck a stellar 122 in the second Test against Pakistan on January 2 (Monday).

Conway has scored the first century back to back in the last two years and coincidently clobbered 122 runs on both occasions. In 2022, he scored a century on January 1 while in 2023 on January 2.

Batting giants with 50-plus average in ODIs

Click Here