Border-Gavaskar Trophy: A look at all 15 Test series results between India and Australia since 1996

Sports Tak Staff
February 52023

Here, we look at the 15 series that have taken place between the two sides. 

1996–97: India
India won the one-Test match series that started this tournament.

1997–98: India
It was India once again, winning the three-match series 2-1.

1999–2000: Australia
Australia won their first Border-Gavaskar Trophy at home with a 3-0 whitewash. 

2000–01: India
India won the match series 2-1.

2003–04: Australia
The four-match series was drawn, with a win each for India and Australia, and two draws.

2004–05: India
This was the first time that Australia won the trophy at home, beating India twice. 

2007–08: Australia

Consecutive series wins for Australia for the first time, when they beat their opponents twice.

2008–09: India
Australia failed to win a single match as India won twice and drew twice in four tense matches.

2010–11: India
Another win for India, winning both games in their first whitewash in this trophy's history. 

2011–12:  Australia
The second whitewash in this competition came in Australia, which won all four matches. 

2012–13: India
Another Whitewash saw India win all four matches. 

2014–15: Australia
Australia won the series 2-0, with two wins and two draws in their own backyard. 

2016–17: India
Back in India, the side came back very well after losing the first match to seal the series 2-1. 

2018–19: Australia
India won on Australian soil 2-1, with two wins and one draw. 

2020–21: Australia
Considered their greatest win in this competition, India came back from an innings loss to seal the series 2-1.