T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup is set to start in Australia from October 16 and all 16 teams are ready for the marquee event.

How many teams are participating?

A total of 16 teams are participating in the 2022 T20 World Cup. The qualifying rounds will be played for the remaining four places of the Super-12 groups.

When did it start?

The first edition of the T20 World Cup was played in 2007. At that time, India became the first champion under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Power of the bowlers

T20I cricket might favour the batters, but bowlers have also shown their power by taking hat-tricks.

How many?

Four hat-tricks have been taken so far in the 15-year history of the T20 World Cup. Here is a list of the names of those bowlers:-

Brett Lee

Former Australian pacer Brett Lee took his first hat-trick against Bangladesh in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

Curtis Camper

There were three hat-tricks in 2021 edition of the WC. Ireland's Curtis Camper took the first against the Netherlands.

Wanindu Hasaranga

Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga took a hat-trick against South Africa in the 2021 T20 World Cup by sending Markram, Bavuma and Pretoris off in 3 balls.

Rabada took the third hat-trick of the 2021 World Cup against England by taking the wickets of Chris Woakes, Morgan and Jordan.

Kagiso Rabada

Click here for more stories