Heroes of T20 WC

The T20 World Cup countdown has started and all the teams are gearing up to clinch the coveted title. Meanwhile, let's have a look at the list of Player of the Tournament so far in the 15-year history of the mega event.

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

In the inaugural season of the T20 World Cup in 2007, Pakistan lost the final clash against India, but Afridi picked 12 wickets in 7 matches at an economy of 6.71. He Also scored 91 runs.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

In 2009, Sri Lanka made it to the final. Sri Lanka's star opener Dilshan scored 317 runs in 7 matches at an average of 52.83. His strike rate was 144.74.

Kevin Pietersen (England)

England won the third edition of the T20 World Cup. Kevin Pieterson remained the hero of the tournament as he scored 248 runs in 6 matches at an average of 62 and strike rate of 137.77.

Shane Watson (Australia)

The hero of the 2012 T20 World Cup was Watson. He scored 249 runs in 6 matches at an average of 49.80 and strike rate of 150. He also took 11 wickets at an economy of 7.33.

Virat Kohli (India)

In 2014, Team India lost to Sri Lanka in the final. Kohli then scored 319 runs in 6 matches at an average of 106.33 and a strike rate of 129.14. Along with this, he also took five catches.

Virat Kohli (India)

In 2016, India lost the semifinal to West Indies but Kohli fared well with the bat. He scored 273 runs in 5 matches at an average of 136.50 and a strike rate of 146.77.

David Warner (Australia)

Australia became the winner for the first time in 2021. In that edition Warner scored 289 runs at an average of 48.16 and a strike rate of 146.70.

Virat Kohli is the only player who has been adjudged the Player of the Match twice in the T20 World Cup. He will have a chance to achieve this feat for the third time. On the other hand, Warner would like to equalise Kohli.

Kohli on top

Click here for more stories