The eighth edition of the T20 World Cup is around the corner, and today, we take a look at the nine centurions in the marquee cricket tournament. 

Heading 3

1. Chris Gayle

It is no surprise that Chris Gayle scored the first century at the T20 World Cup. He hit 117 off 57 balls against South Africa in a losing cause in 2007. 

2. Suresh Raina

The only Indian on this list, Raina scored the first of two centuries at the 2010 T20 World Cup. He hit 101 off 60 balls, once again against South Africa.

3. Mahela Jayawardene

Sri Lanka's former skipper was the second centurion at the 2010 edition. His ton came against Zimbabwe and he scored 100 off 64 balls.

4. Brendon McCullum

The explosive New Zealand batter smashed 123 against Bangladesh in 2012. This is still the highest individual score in the Men's T20 World Cup.

5. Alex Hales

Another explosive opener, the Englishman scored an unbeaten 116 off just 64 against Sri Lanka. It was the first ton of the 2014 edition.

6. Ahmed Shehzad

The second ton of the 2014 T20 World Cup was scored by Pakistan's Ahmed Shehzad, against Bangladesh. He smashed 111* off 62 balls.

7. Tamim Iqbal

An unbeaten 103 off just 63 balls marked a Bangladesh batter's name on this list. It was the first ton of the 2016 T20 World Cup, coming against Oman.

The only player with two centuries at the marquee event, Chris Gayle hit an unbeaten 100 off just 48 balls against England, the fastest century in the Men's T20 World Cup.

8. Chris Gayle

The current England limited-overs skipper hit the only century of the 2021 T20 World Cup against Sri Lanka, off just 67 balls.

9. Jos Buttler

Click here for more stories