In the Asia Cup 2022, Rohit Sharma will look to emulate the record of India's former captains MS Dhoni and Mohammad Azharuddin. Let's know about the records and the winning captains of Asia Cup.

Champion skippers

In the inaugural season of the Asia Cup 1984, India got the better of Sri Lanka in the final under the captaincy of Sunil Gavaskar.

Sunil Gavaskar

Sri Lanka won their first Asia Cup in 1986. The team led by Duleep Mendis defeated Pakistan by five wickets in the final.

Duleep Mendis

Team India spearheaded by Dilip Vengsarkar, won their second Asia Cup title in 1988 by defeating Sri Lanka yet again.

Dilip Vengsarkar

Mohammad Azharuddin

In the 1991's edition of Asia Cup, India led by Mohammad Azharuddin rallied the Men in Blue to another title by beating Sri Lanka.

Mohammad Azharuddin won the Asia Cup twice for India in his regime, as in 1995 Men in Blue downed their favourite opponents Sri Lanka again. 

Mohammad Azharuddin

In 1997, Sri Lanka again won the Asia Cup title in the regime of Arjuna Ranatunga. Sri Lankan team defeated India by eight wickets in the final and won the summit clash for the second time.

Arjuna Ranatunga

In 2000, Pakistan won the Asia Cup for the first time. They beat Sri Lanka by 39 runs in the leadership of Moin Khan.

Moin Khan

Sri Lanka again became the champion in 2004. They defeated India by 25 runs in the final played in Colombo.

Marvan Atapattu

In 2008, Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup. In the final played in Karachi, they defeated India by 100 runs. With this, they equalled India by winning the Asia Cup 4 times.

Mahela Jayawardene

India were crowned with Asia Cup title after a long wait of 15 years in 2010, as MS Dhoni laid the foundation of India's fifth title.

MS Dhoni

In 2012, Pakistan won the Asia Cup by defeating Bangladesh. They won the final match played in Mirpur by two runs.

Misbah Ul Haq

Sri Lankan team became champion in 2014. They defeated Pakistan by five wickets in the final played in Mirpur. This was their fifth title.

Angelo Mathews

MS Dhoni-led India won their sixth Asia Cup title in 2016 as they defeated Bangladesh in the summit clash.

MS Dhoni

Rohit Sharma brought seventh Asia Cup title for India in 2018 as the Men in Blue got the better of Bangladesh in the final.

Rohit Sharma

Follow us on: