Did on-field umpires play a role in India's win over Bangladesh? 

November 03, 2022

Sports Tak Staff

India's win over Bangladesh gave rise to a controversy related to umpiring decisions. 

At least three umpiring decisions have become a center of controversy. 

First, in the 16th over of India's innings, Virat Kohli asked for a no-ball and the square-leg umpire obliged.

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan objected to the decision and was spotted chatting with Kohli. 

Second, in the seventh over of Bangladesh's run chase, Kohli was spotted doing 'fake fielding', the penalty for which is five runs. 

Third, the umpires decided to restart the match as soon as the rain stopped when Bangladesh were batting. 

Shakib Al Hasan appeared to be unhappy with the conditions, mostly because his team was ahead by 17 runs (D/L method).

In 2015 50-over World Cup match between India and Bangladesh, a few umpiring decisions came under the radar. 

Click Here