England and their record in World Cup finals

November 12, 2022

Sports Tak web

After beating India in the semis, England qualified for their seventh World Cup final across both ODIs and T20Is.

They first reached the final of a World Cup in 1979, losing to West Indies by 92 runs.

The second time that the side reached a major World Cup final was in 1987, this time losing to Australia. 

England qualified for consecutive finals in 1992 but this time lost to their 2022 T20 World Cup final opponents Pakistan.

After four finals and four losses, England final tasted triumph on the global stage, but in the T20I format. 

In 2010, led by Paul Collingwood, England beat Australia by seven wickets.

Then in 2016, one of the most dramatic finals in T20 WC history saw England unable to defend 19 vs West Indies in the final over.

But the villain of 2016 Ben Stokes turned saviour in 2019.

He led England to their maiden ODI World Cup trophy after beating New Zealand on boundary count. 

Indian flair at MCG for T20 WC final despite Men in Blue's ineptitude

Click Here