The Men in Blue are gearing up for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 which is scheduled to be played from August 27 to September 11.

Asia Cup 2022

India, who already have seven Asia Cup titles in their kitty, will look to extend their title count to eight in 2022.

Title at stake

Let's have a look at the list of Indian captains who won the Asia Cup title for the Men in Blue

Champion captains

In the inaugural season of the Asia Cup, India got the better of Sri Lanka in the final under the captaincy of Sunil Gavaskar.

1984-  Sunil Gavaskar

1988 - Dilip Vengsarkar

The first Asia Cup was organised in the UAE in the year 1984 when India clinched the Asia Cup title for the first time by defeating Pakistan.

In the 1991's edition of Asia Cup, India led by Mohammad Azharuddin rallied the Men in Blue to another title by beating Sri Lanka.

1991 - Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin won the Asia Cup twice for India in his regime, as in 1995 Men in Blue downed their favourite opponents Sri Lanka again. 

1995 - Mohammad Azharuddin

India were crowned with Asia Cup title after a long wait of 15 years in 2010, as MS Dhoni laid the foundation of India's fifth title.

2010 - MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni-led India won their sixth Asia Cup title in 2016 as they defeated Bangladesh in the summit clash.

2016 - MS Dhoni

Rohit Sharma brought seventh Asia Cup title for India in 2018 as the Men in Blue got the better of Bangladesh in the final.

2018 - Rohit Sharma

Follow us on: