Indians with centuries on their Test debuts

Sports Tak Staff
July 13, 2023

Yashasvi Jaiswal created history on his Test debut.

He became the 17th Indian batter to score a century in just his debut game.

He is also the first to score a ton on his debut in West Indies!

Here, we look at the 16 other players with centuries in their debut match. 

Lala Amarnath (vs England, 1993)
Deepak Shodhan (vs Pakistan, 1952)
AG Kripal Singh (vs New Zealand, 1955)
Abbas Ali Baig (vs England, 1959)

Hanumant Singh (vs England, 1984)
Gundappa Visvanath (vs Australia, 1969)
Surinder Amarnath (vs New Zealand, 1976)
Mohammad Azharuddin (vs England, 1976)

Pravin Amre (vs South Africa, 1992
Sourav Ganguly (vs England, 1996)
Virender Sehwag (vs South Africa, 2001)
Suresh Raina (vs Sri Lanka, 2010)

Shikhar Dhawan (vs Australia, 2013)
Rohit Sharma (vs West Indies, 2013)
Prithvi Shaw (vs West Indies, 2018)
Shreyas Iyer  (vs New Zealand, 2021)

Harry Brook creates World Record in Headingley

Next Story
window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-235112946-5');