IPL 2023: Which teams were successful across the 15 seasons of the cash-rich league — A list

Sports Tak Staff
March 252023

The IPL 2023 season starts on March 31 with a mega clash between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings.

Ahead of the tournament, we look at 15 past winners of the IPL, from 2008 to 2022.

IPL 2008: The Rajasthan Royals (RR) captured the first-ever IPL title after beating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 3 wickets in the final.

IPL 2009: Deccan Chargers won the 2nd IPL edition, beating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by six runs in the final.

IPL 2010: Chennai Super Kings won their first title in 2010 when they beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs.

IPL 2011: CSK won back-to-back IPL trophies with a win over the RCB by 58 runs in the final.

IPL 2012: CSK once again reached the final but KKR defeated them by five wickets in the final.

IPL 2013: Reaching another final and losing a second straight time, the Chennai Super Kings were beaten by the Mumbai Indians.

IPL 2014: KKR won the IPL title for the second time with a victory over Kings XI Punjab by three wickets in the final.

IPL 2015: CSK once again reached the final but MI once again defeated MS Dhoni's side by 41 runs.

IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad won their only trophy with an eight-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore.

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians clashed with Dhoni's Rising Pune Supergiants in 2017, and defeated them by 1 run.

IPL 2018: Sunrisers Hyderabad once again reached the final but lost by 8 wickets to a resilient CSK side.

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians made a comeback in 2019, and condemned CSK to a loss in what was a very exciting tournament.

IPL 2020: In 2020, MI created history and became the first team to win 5 IPL titles with a five-wicket win over the Delhi Capitals.

IPL 2021: Chennai reached the IPL final once again, their ninth in 14 editions. Under the captaincy of Dhoni, CSK beat KKR to win their fourth title.

IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans (GT) captained by Hardik Pandya, beat Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets, winning in their first IPL season.

Next Story
window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-235112946-5');