The Asia Cup commenced in the year 1984 featuring many countries including India and Pakistan and the first title was bagged by the Men in Blue.

First edition

The second edition of the Asia Cup was held in 1986. Back then Sri Lanka's dominance in cricket was on peak as they went on to beat the defending champions India to claim the title.

Second Edition

In 1988, India again counterattacked and snatched the Asia Cup trophy from Sri Lanka under the captaincy of Dilip Vengsarkar.

Third Edition

In 1991, India defended the Asia Cup title under the captaincy of Mohammad Azharuddin. He took a hat-trick and won the Asia Cup title for the third time.

Fourth Edition

Fifth edition

The 5th edition of Asia Cup was played in 1995 and India continued their dominance by clinching the title for the fourth time in the leadership of Mohammad Azharuddin.

The Asia Cup was held for the 6th time in 1997. This time the captain of the Indian team was Sachin Tendulkar under whose captaincy India downed Sri Lanka to win the title.

Sixth Edition

In 2000, the Asia Cup was organised for the 7th time and this time the dominance of Sri Lanka and India. Pakistan rose to the occasion and went on to win their maiden title.

Seventh Edition

In the eighth edition of the Asia Cup, 2004, where Indian cricket was going through a lot of changes, Sri Lanka again showed the strength and captured the Asia Cup for the third time.

Eighth Edition

After winning the Asia Cup in 2004, the Sri Lankan team showed strength in the year 2008 as well and this time won the Asia Cup for the second time in a row.

Ninth edition

The Sri Lankan team was once again given a tough competition by the Indian team and did not allow it to have a hat-trick of victory. This time India won the Asia Cup in 2010 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

Tenth Edition

In the year 2012, Team India under Dhoni's captaincy had to suffer defeat at the hands of Pakistan, who won their second title.

11th Edition

For the first time in 2014, India entered the field in the leadership Virat Kohli to win the Asia Cup. But Kohli's team could not overcome the Sri Lanka challenge, who claimed the title yet again.

12th Edition

In 2016, under the captaincy of Dhoni and in 2018, under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Team India again proved their dominance. India won the title on both the occasions to take their title count to 7.

13th & 14th edition

Follow us on: