India will travel to the UAE at the end of August 2022 to participate in the Asia Cup and add a record eighth title to their name

Asia Cup calling

Over the years, India has been captained by many players in the Asia Cup, with almost all of them tasting success, barring a few

Many captains for India

Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli and Sourav Ganguly are some of the big names who have not won the Asia Cup as captain

Which captains failed?

But when Rohit takes the field, he will add his name to an elite list of players who have captained India more than once in the Asia Cup!

Rohit joins this elite list

Azharuddin has led India in the Asia Cup twice, winning the trophy on both occasions for the country.

1991, 1995
Md. Azharuddin (2 wins)

The legendary India skipper has captained India twice in the Asia Cup, losing 2004 final to Sri Lanka. 

2000, 2004
Sourav Ganguly (0 wins)

Dhoni has won all available trophies for India, and in four Asia Cup appearances, he has won the trophy twice. 

2008, 2010, 2012, 2016 MS Dhoni (2 wins)

Rohit Sharma was given his first outing as a skipper at the Asia Cup and won the trophy. Now, can he replicate that success as the full-time captain?

2018, 2022 Rohit Sharma (2nd win coming?)

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

India's squad for Asia Cup

Follow us on: