In 14 editions of the Asia Cup so far, 13 players have bagged the esteemed Man of the Series award. 

Remarkable performers

Let's take a look at the 13 players who have won the Man of the Series award in Asia Cup history.

Award winners

India's wicketkeeper-batter Surinder Khanna scored 107 runs in two matches in the country's triumphant Asia Cup campaign in 1984. 

1984 - Surinder Khanna 

Sri Lanka's World Cup-winning captain won the prestigious award in 1988 after scoring 105 runs and leading his nation to their first Asia Cup win. 

1986 - Arjuna Ranatunga 

India's second Asia Cup win was powered by Navjot Singh Sindu, who scored 177 runs and earned the player of the series award. 

1988 - Navjot Singh Sidhu

Sidhu bagged another award, this time in the 1995 Asia Cup campaign after scoring 116 runs and ensuring India's continental supremacy. 

1995 - Navjot Singh Sidhu

Sri Lanka capped their 1996 World Cup win by securing the Asia Cup title in 1997. Ranatunga bagged the player of the series award for scoring 272 runs. 

1997 - Arjuna Ranatunga

On the back of Mohammad Yousuf's tally of 295 runs, Pakistan won their first-ever Asia Cup in 2000. 

2000 - MD Yousuf 

For his all-round display (293 runs and 4 wickets), Sanath Jayasuriya pocketed the player of the tournament award in 2004 edition of the Asia Cup. 

2004 - Sanath Jayasuriya 

Ajantha Mendis' stunning bowling performance (17 wickets) earned the Sri Lankan mystery spinner the prestigious award in the 2008 edition. 

2008 - Ajantha Mendis

Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi secured the Man of the Series award in the 2010 Asia Cup. He scored 265 runs and bagged three wickets. 

2010 - Shahid Afridi 

Bangladesh's star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored 237 runs and took 6 wickets in Asia  Cup 2012 and claimed the accolade. 

2012 - Shakib Al Hasan 

Sri Lanka's Lahiru Thirimanne scored 279 runs in the 2014 edition of the Asia Cup, which the island nation won by defeating Pakistan in the final. 

2014 - Lahiru Thirimanne 

Bangladesh's Sabbir Rahman scored 176 runs at a strike rate of 124 in five innings in the 2016 edition of the Asia Cup. 

2016 - Sabbir Rahman

A tally of 342 runs, two centuries and an average of over 68 earned India's Shikhar Dhawan the player of the series award in 2018. 

2018 - Shikhar Dhawan 

Follow us on: