India vs Australia

In the second T20I played between India and Australia in Nagpur, the opening pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul entered the history books for this reason.

The opening pair of Rohit-Rahul scored 21 runs in the first over, or the first 6 balls against Australia. This happened for the first time for India.

Rohit-Rahul's magic

Talking about the history of T20Is for India, 21 runs in the first over were scored for the first time. Before that, the record was of 19 runs.

Rohit-Rahul ahead of others

In the first over that India faced in T20I cricket, the pair of Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag scored 19 runs against New Zealand in Christchurch.

Sehwag-gambhir left behind

The pair of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan scored 18 runs in the first over of a T20I against South Africa in 2018.

Rohit-Dhawan also part

During the 2010 T20 World Cup, the pair of Gambhir and Murali Vijay scored 16 runs against Afghanistan in the first over.


In Nagpur, Rohit and Rahul started with a bang while chasing a target of 91 runs, Rohit stood strong till the end to win the match for India.

Fireworks in Nagpur

The match in Nagpur was reduced to 8 overs an innings due to a wet outfield. Rohit scored an unbeaten 46 runs in 20 balls to level the series 1-1.

Eight-overs excitement

If India beats Australia in Hyderabad, then with 21 T20I victories, they will also overtake Pakistan for the most victories in a single calendar year!

Chance to leave Pakistan behind

Click here for more stories