Shafali Verma's 'Teens in Blue' script history with U-19 Women's T20 WC triumph

Sports Tak Staff
January 292023

Shafali Verma-led India became the U-19 Women's T20 World Cup champions on Sunday (January 29).

India thrashed England by seven wickets in the final to clinch the coveted title which is also the first ICC trophy for India's women cricket team overall.

Batting first the Teens in Blue restricted England to just 68.

India overhauled the lowly target without breaking a sweat with 36 balls to spare.

Titas Sadhu, Parshavi Chopra and Archana Devi snared two-wickets each in India's victory.

Shweta Sehrawat became the leading run scorer of the U-19 Women's T20 WC 2023.

India lost just one match in the tournament which came against Australia.

Meanwhile England were unbeaten in the tournament but faltered badly in the summit clash.

Next Story