Usman Khawaja elite list of Australian openers with first Test ton on Indian soil

Sports Tak Staff
March 092023

Here is a list of 10 Australian openers who have scored centuries on Indian soil

1 | Jim Burke was the first Australian opener to score a Test century in India. He scored 161 

3 | Keith Stackpole scored 103 in 1969 against Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi-led Indian side

4 | Graham Yallop scored 167 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata in 1979 against Sunil Gavaskar-led side

5 | David Boon scored 122 against Kapil Dev-led Indian side in 1979 in the famous tied Chennai Test

6 | In the same year, Geoff Marsh scored 101 in a drawn Test at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

7 | Former Australian skipper Mark Taylor scored unbeaten 102 to help his side win by 8 wickets in 1998

8 | Matthew Hayden is the only Australian opener to do it twice. Hayden scored 119 and 203 in 2001 series

9 | Simon Katich scored 102 against MS Dhoni-led side in 2008 at Nagpur in a losing cause

10 | In 2010, Shane Watson scored 126 against MS Dhoni-led side by India ended up winning the Test by 1 wicket

11 | More than 12 years later, Usman Khawaja completed his maiden Test century on Indian soil in Ahmedabad Test

Next Story
window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-235112946-5');