Who failed to steal the deal in Women's Premier League's windfall?

Sports Tak Staff
January 262023

Stage is set for the glitzy Women's Premier League (WPL) which will be played in March, 2023 just before the Men's IPL.

On Wednesday, sixteen business entities, including the owners of seven IPL franchises, placed a total of 84 bids to buy the ownership of five WPL teams.

Adani Group bought Ahmedabad's franchise for Rs 1289 crores, Mumbai Indians got Mumbai for Rs 912 crores while RCB splurged Rs 901 Crores on Bengaluru, JSW GMR bought Delhi for Rs 810 crores and Capri Group got Lucknow for Rs 757 crores.

Rajasthan Royals had made three bids of Rs 176 crores for Indore, Rs 178 crores for Dharamshala and Rs 180 crores for Guwahati but failed to buy get any franchise.

KKR had placed a bid of Rs 666 Crores on 10 cities but couldn't buy the ownership of any team.

Punjab Kings also placed biddings on eight cities but didn't get a single team.

Sunrisers Hyderabad too placed bidding on three cities but didn't get the team.

Beside these biddings, 360 Slingshot Sports Ventures Pvt Ltd (9 cities), Amrit Leela Enterprises Pvt Ltd and APL Sports Pvt Ltd (6 cities) also failed to buy any teams despite multiple biddings.

The other companies who failed to buy any teams were Haldiram (bid on 4 cities) and Torrent Investments Pvt Ltd (bid on 3 cities).

Next Story