Windfall on T20 WC Champions

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is all set to kick off from October 16 in Australia as the winners of the marquee tournament will get a whopping amount of $1.6 million (approx Rs 13 Crore).

Runners Up's
 prize money

In the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, the runners-up will get the prize money equal to half of the winners' amount  $800,000 (about Rs 6.5 crore).


In the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, the losing team in the semi-finals will get US$ 400,000 (Rs 3.26 crore).

Treat for the Ousted teams

The eight teams in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 that exit at the Super 12 stage with receive prize money of $70,000 (Rs 57 lakh).

What ICC has to say?

The ICC said that just like last year at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, a win in each of the 30 games in the Super 12 phase will be worth $40,000 (about Rs 33 lakh).

First phase prize

For any win in the first round, a prize money of $40,000 (about Rs 33 lakh) will be given. In this way, a total prize money of $480,000 (about Rs 4 crore) will be given in 12 matches.

Penny from Heaven

The total prize money which will be spent on the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will cost around $5.6 million
(about Rs 45 crore).

How many teams
to participate

A total of 16 teams will participate in this tournament and the T20 World Cup will be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November.

Eight teams will play in the first round. In which Group A consists of Namibia, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, UAE and Group B includes West Indies, Scotland, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

First round teams

In Super-12 a total of 8 teams - Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa and 4 teams will advance further in the tournament.


Click here for more stories