IND vs AUS: Winners and losers of 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Sports Tak Staff
March 13, 2023

The 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy came to an end on March 13 (Monday). 

India clinched the prestigious series by a margin of 2-1 and lifted the coveted trophy. 

Let's take a closer look at individual players who shone bright and those who performed poorly in the series.

Winner: Usman Khawaja. The Aussie opener shut his critics and ended the series as the leading run-scorer (333 runs in 7 matches). 

Winner: Axar Patel - the batter. The left-handed batter displayed pristine skill with the bat and ended as 3rd leading scorer (264 runs in 5 innings).

Winner: Spinners. Ravichandran Ashwin (25), Ravindra Jadeja (22), Nathan Lyon (22) and Todd Murphy (14) were the only bowlers who reahed double figures in wickets. 

Loser: KL Rahul. India's opening batter lost his place in the playing XI after three consecutive failures. 

Loser: Steve Smith. Aussie maverick batter failed to score even a single half-century in seven innings. 

Loser: Axar Patel - bowler. In a series dominated by spinners, Axar failed to make an impact with the ball and bagged just 3 wickets in 7 innings. 

Next Story
window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-235112946-5');