The Durand Cup first took place in 1988 and is the oldest football tournament to be held in Asia and the third oldest in the world.

Oldest football tournament in Asia

Since its inception, the Durand Cup has been hosted by the Army forces, first the British and post-independence the Durand Football Tournament Society.

Who organises the Durand Cup?

The first name to be inscribed on the trophy were the Royal Scots Fusiliers, who beat the Highland Light Infantry by 2–1 back in 1888.

Who won the first trophy?

After being hosted in Dagshai, near Shimla, the tournament moved to Delhi in 1940, Goa in 2014, and Kolkata in 2019.

History of venues

This tournament has 20 teams in the group stages, with the top teams from each group qualifying for the knockout stages.

Format of the tourney

With new AFC rules in play, the 2022 Durand Cup is bigger than usual, and with more teams playing the matches are happening at more than one venue.

Unprecedented season

Bitter rivals of Indian football Mohun Bagan and East Bengal are the two teams with the most Durand Cup trophies — 16 each. 

Most tournament wins

FC Goa became the fourth Goan club to win the tournament after defeating Kolkata-based Mohammedan SC in the final.

Who won the last edition

PC: Twitter/@adgpi

The tournament winners get not 1 or 2, but 3 different trophies!
Durand Cup: The original tournament trophy
Shimla Trophy: donated by the residents of Shimla in 1904
President's Cup: Replaced the Viceroy's Trophy post-independence

Interesting fact

Follow us on: