Hockey WC 2023: Nine winners from 14 World Cups

January 9, 2023

Sports Tak Staff

The Hockey World Cup 2023 is being organised in India and will be played from January 13 to January 29.

Ahead of the marquee event, which is being held in Odisha, let's take you through the list of champions who tasted World Cup glory in 14 editions held so far.

Pakistan won the World Cup for the first time in 1971 in the inaugural edition. They have won the title 4 times so far which came in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994.

Netherlands have won the World Cup trophy thrice. They first became champions back in 1973 and then followed it up in 1990 and 1998. They clinched all the titles in their own home.

Meanwhile, India have won the Hockey World Cup just once which came in 1975 when they defeated Pakistan 2-1 in the summit clash in Kuala Lumpur.

Australia have become the Hockey World Cup Champions thrice. They first won the title in 1986 and then went on to replicate the title glory in 2010 and 2014.

Germany have won the Hockey World Cup title twice. They became back-to-back champions in 2002 and 2006 as on both the occasions they defeated Australia.

Belgium have won the Hockey World Cup just once which came in 2018. They are the defending champions and are the strongest contender to win the title this time around.

Hockey WC 2023: India's schedule, timing and fixtures for marquee tournament

Click Here